photo
Jordan Sissel
geek

Mon, 29 Jan 2007

Comment spam that got through

I get emails from this site when someone comments.

This morning, this showed up:

Name: Virtual Pharmacy
Email: [snipped]
URL: [snipped]
Hostname: 114.199.36.72.reverse.layeredtech.com (72.36.199.114)
Entry URL: http://www.semicomplete.com/blog/geekery/barcamp-sanfrancisco-2
Comment location: [snipped]

Everyone repeat, what alcohol should be consumed moderately, but what it means? Why to women
 recommend to drink more moderately than to men? What is the female alcoholism? WBR LeoP
A quick google search for the strange tail token, "WBR LeoP" reveals a clear indication that this is comment spam (as if the content didn't give it away).

The url the spammer used points at pharmacynewsblog.com, which looks like a normal blog.

It's not.

The content is entirely viagra-and-friends related, which is fine. However, examine a simple visible text snippet of the following (this is from the frontpage):

Drug treatment may beat psychotherapy at ...
Google for this phrase and you'll find that it's been plagiarized. But deliciously so:

View source, you'll see:

<p>Drug <b class=ne>joint pain are </b>treatment <BLINK class=ne>of
purchase </BLINK>may <sup class=ne>wellbutrin at </sup>beat <small
class=ne>and paxil vs </small>psychotherapy
The css class 'ne' sets 'display: none' among other properties that make it stay out of the way of the browser.

This is quite clever, and appears automated.

pharmacynewsblog.com seems to be a somewhat autogenerated spam blog that takes news postings about viagara and the like and injects random html into it, with the intention of defeating antispam solutions. Anti-spam engines probably aren't smart enough to know that it should ignore the text pieces that are invisible. Who knows.

But, back to the spam comment. I use javascript to poke parts of the comment form indicating that a javascript-capable browser was used to submit the comment. If javascript is not detected, the comment is denied.

This comment got through, which means that javascript was enabled, which means that it was probably a webbrowser that did it.

Here's the apache log snippet:

72.36.199.114 - - [29/Jan/2007:13:01:17 -0500] "GET /blog/geekery/barcamp-sanfrancisco-2.html HTTP/1.1" 200 15903 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.2; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)"
72.36.199.114 - - [29/Jan/2007:13:01:18 -0500] "GET /style.css HTTP/1.1" 200 2584 "http://www.semicomplete.com/blog/geekery/barcamp-sanfrancisco-2.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.2; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)"
72.36.199.114 - - [29/Jan/2007:13:01:20 -0500] "POST /blog/geekery/barcamp-sanfrancisco-2 HTTP/1.1" 200 16392 "http://www.semicomplete.com/blog/geekery/barcamp-sanfrancisco-2.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.2; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)"
72.36.199.114 - - [29/Jan/2007:13:01:21 -0500] "GET /style.css HTTP/1.1" 200 2584 "http://www.semicomplete.com/blog/geekery/barcamp-sanfrancisco-2" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.2; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)"
It didn't fetch any images, but it did pull style sheets, which is strange behavior if it's a simple spam bot that doesn't care about how a page looks. It also pulled the blog posting page first, then submitted a comment. Further indication that this bot is either really clever, or a person is behind the wheel.

If you search for the ip, 72.36.199.114, the first hit on google is an automagically updated list of known comment spam hosts.

Comments: 3 (view comments)
Tags: , ,
Permalink: /geekery/comment-spam-got-through
posted at: 13:41


3 responses to 'Comment spam that got through'

Try posted at Sun Mar 11 15:21:11 2007...
Well, layeredtech.com is probably the biggest host in the world for spammers.

Just check;
http://hotpot.se/guest-book-spammers.htm

The worst thing is that layeredtech.com refuses to do anything aginst the spammers.

I’ve sent email to their abuse department (abuse@layeredtech.com, abuse@support.layeredtech.com, support@layeredtech.com) but they only say that if I continue to report spam from their network they will block me out.

Patricia posted at Tue Nov 13 06:21:15 2007...
Actually it really happens. Some of the blogs look normal but in fact turn out to be spammers. Pity.

Economic and Culture Observer posted at Fri Feb 8 07:54:57 2008...
Wow. Great job! But spamming strategies are the stratigis of massive commenting! Even if you have a wish to find out what's going on - it can be only an individual effor.
How do you think?


Leave a reply

You need javascript enabled to use this form. Anti-spam efforts ongoing. Also, if the comment doesn't show up, it's because the form expired. Go back and copy your comment, reload the form, and resubmit. Apologies if this is a hassle, I'm just playing with antispam methods right now. If this insists on not working, please email me about it.

Name (required)
E-mail (optional. Not posted or recorded anywhere, ever)
URL (also optional)
Comment:


Search this site

Navigation

Metadata

Home About Resume My Code

Articles

ARP Security Dynamic DNS with DHCP OpenLDAP+Kerberos+SASL PPP over SSH SSH Security: /bin/false Week of Unix Tools Work Efficiency

Projects

fex firefox tabsearch firefox urledit grok keynav liboverride newpsm (FreeBSD) nis2ldap pam_captcha poor man's backup Solaris audio utility xboxproxy xdotool xmlpresenter xpathtool misc scripts

Presentations

Yahoo! Hack Day '06 Unix Essentials Vi/Vim Essentials

Tag Cloud

Calendar

< January 2007 >
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Friends

BarCamp Kent Brewster Tantek Çelik John Resig Wesley Shields Tyler Shields

Technorati